Colorado Car Insurance
Colorado drivers face a multitude oh hazards while on the road every day. Because of the popularity of Colorado’s natural beauty, this is especially true during the tourist season when motorists from all over the country and the world invade mountains and ski resorts in search of a lifetime of memories. The influx of tourists, combined with the mountainous terrain and excessive snowfalls make it vitally important that Coloradans carry at least the bare minimum of insurance for their vehicles. CarInsuranceQuotes.com has all the information Colorado residents need to purchase car insurance online. And when you’re ready to make that purchase, CarInsuranceQuotes.com can find you the best quotes quickly and easily.
Colorado Car Insurance Requirements
Unlike most other states, Colorado is a no fault state. This means that if Coloradans are involved in a collision, each party’s own car insurance will cover their individual medical and repair expenses. The reason behind the no fault policy is to reduce the amount of lawsuits that residents are involved in and to help keep insurance premiums as low as possible. And it seems to be working. The average insurance premium paid by a Colorado resident in 2007 was $1614; down 2.7% from the year 2006 and much lower than the national average of $1896. Of course, the insurance premiums each individual pays could be higher or lower than the average depending on such factors as their driving history, credit history and vehicle type.
Because Colorado is a no fault state, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is required by state law. Personal injury protection covers the medical expenses of the insured. However, if the insured also carries Comprehensive and Collision to cover expenses if they are at fault or if their vehicle is damaged by nature or wildlife, then only the minimum PIP coverage needs to be carried.
There are exceptions to the no fault rule, however. If the damages to the other person’s vehicle exceed a certain amount or there injuries are severe enough, they can take the at-fault party to court and they can be charged for the damages. Because of these exceptions, Colorado also requires that its motorists carry a minimum liability policy as well. The state minimum coverage for Coloradans is $25,000 in bodily injury liability for a single person, up to a maximum of $50,000 for multiple persons involved in the accident as well as $15,000 in property damage liability to cover damages to the other person’s vehicle and other public and private property that may be damaged during the accident.
These are the minimum Colorado car insurance requirements. Because medical expenses and property damage can far exceed these prices, it is highly recommended that Coloradans obtain better than minimum coverage. And because many people fail to obtain the minimum insurance on their vehicles, Uninsured/Underinsured motorist protection is also recommended. UM protection covers the insured in the event that the other party does not have sufficient coverage or they are involved in a hit and run.
It is important to purchase and maintain an insurance policy that will cover all expenses in the event that you are involved in a traffic accident. CarInsuranceQuotes.com knows how difficult it can be to find the right policy for you and that is why CarInsuranceQuotes.com has partnered with quality car insurance companies such as Allstate, Nationwide and esurance.com so our customers can feel comfortable with the knowledge that they are receiving low cost insurance from a reputable company. All you need to do is enter your Zip code and answer a few questions about your driving history and CarInsuranceQuotes.com will find you multiple low cost Colorado car insurance quotes so you can choose the policy that fits you the best. It’s fast, it’s easy, and best of all free!