Massachusetts Car Insurance
Whether traveling to and from work in Boston traffic or heading to Cape Cod for a weekend getaway, Massachusetts residents spend a lot of their time driving. The more people are on the roadways, the higher the chances of them being involved in an automobile accident. This is why it is extremely important that all Massachusetts drivers carry a Massachusetts car insurance policy that will cover any damages that they may incur from a collision. CarInsuranceQuotes.com understands that Massachusetts motorists don’t want to pay outrageous prices for their insurance and that is why CarInsuranceQuotes.com searches the Internet for the lowest online car insurance quotes for our customers.
Massachusetts Car Insurance Requirements
In order to keep insurance premiums as low as possible and reduce the amount of lawsuits that are filed by their motorists, Massachusetts is a no-fault state. In a no-fault state, every resident’s insurance company is required to pay for the insured’s medical expenses regardless of whose fault the accident was. For this reason, every Massachusetts motorist is required to obtain Personal Injury Protection (PIP) which pays for medical expenses, lost wages and funeral expenses if necessary. The amount of Personal Injury Protection that a driver needs to have depends on the quality of their health insurance policy.
Because there are exceptions to the no-fault rule in Massachusetts, such as if the accident is found to be too severe or the medical expenses exceed a certain amount, all Massachusetts drivers are also required to carry a minimum liability policy for their vehicle as well. The minimum coverage for each vehicle must be at least 20/40/5 for bodily injury liability and property damage liability.
- Bodily Injury Liability- If the insured person is found to be at-fault in an accident, bodily injury liability covers the other driver’s and their passenger’s medical expenses. Under the minimum coverage, the insurance company will pay up to $20,000 for a singe person with a maximum of $40,000 for all persons involved.
- Property Damage Liability- To help cover damages to the other person’s vehicle or damage to public property such as road signs or private property such as a person’s home, every driver must have a minimum of $5000 in property damage liability coverage.
The state of Massachusetts strongly recommends that all motorists carry better than the minimum liability coverage for their vehicles because the costs of medical expenses and repairs can easily exceed the minimum payouts, leaving the insured person paying the rest out of their pocket. It is also recommended that all Massachusetts motorists obtain Comprehensive and Collision coverage to help pay for damages to their own vehicle if they are at-fault or when their vehicle is damaged by an act of nature.
Even though a minimum amount of liability coverage is required by law, many drivers fail to maintain insurance on their vehicle. For this reason, Massachusetts is also one of the few states that also require its residents have Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist protection. UM protection pays for damages to the insured’s vehicle when the other driver’s insurance coverage is insufficient or their vehicle is damaged in a hit and run.
Massachusetts residents are busy enough without having to spend hours researching car insurance companies trying to find low cost insurance for their vehicles. To help save time and money, CarInsuranceQuotes.com has partnered with highly respected car insurance companies such as Progressive, AIG and Nationwide to help our customers get the lowest rates possible. After entering their Zip code and answering a few questions about their driving history, CarInsuranceQuotes.com searches our partner companies and comes back with multiple Massachusetts car insurance quotes that our customers can choose from. And the entire process takes less than five minutes!