If you live in New York, it is important that you are aware of the various car insurance rules and regulations. It is mandatory that you have car insurance if you want to drive your own car in the city. If you are not following these laws, you could be fined, jailed or have your driver's license confiscated by the state. It is important that you are aware of these laws so that you do not get fined unnecessarily. In some cold parts of the state, there is a tendency for car owners to leave their car running on defrost mode unattended while it warms up. It is important to understand that if your car is stolen under those circumstances, your car insurance policy will not cover you. If you leave your car unattended and it is stolen it will not be covered by the insurance company.
Laws for New York car insurance
You need to buy a minimum of $25,000 as bodily injury liability, $50,000 for injury of all people present in the car, $50,000 for death of a single person and $100,000 for death of two or more people. Apart from these, there is a $25,000 minimum for uninsured motorist coverage, $50,000 for personal injury protection and $10,000 for property damage liability. The no fault system of the state states that each party has to pay for their own injuries irrespective of whoever caused the accident. The personal injury protection will cover medical bills of the driver, passengers as well as the pedestrians who were injured by the car.
If you want to register your car in New York, you will need a valid insurance card and your insurance company will have to send an electronic file to the vehicle registration office. When your license is about to lapse, you can send your license plates to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) immediately , in order to avoid suspension.
Buying car insurance
When buying New York car insurance for your car you should be fully aware of all the rules and regulations so that you do not make costly mistakes. You should also study the factors that cause fluctuations in car insurance rates. Car insurance companies check out various factors like credit history, past driving record, age of the driver and location where car is being driven. These factors are responsible for determining the amount of the insurance premium that you have to pay.
If you want to know more about the rules and regulations of car insurance, check out our car insurance information by state found in the footer below.