10 States That Boast the Strictest Car Insurance Laws and Requirements
Non-compliance with car insurance laws can be costly in all 50 states, but the following ten top the list with the highest standards for insurance.
Alaska carries the honor of having the strictest regulations in the country. The state coverage amounts to $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident with $25,000 for property damage. Alaskan drivers pulled over without proof of insurance will have their licenses suspended for between 90 and 365 days.
Maine carries the same car insurance coverage requirements as Alaska. However, drivers without proof of coverage may have their driver's license and vehicle registrations suspended. Maine allows lifting of suspensions if all fines are paid.
With minimum coverage requirements only slightly less than the above states ($30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident, $25,000 property damage), North Carolina keeps track of insurance coverage and mails owners for proof of coverage should one policy lapse. Drivers have 10 days to prove they were covered by insurance or their license plates will be canceled.
Whiles Arizona's coverage amounts are much lower at $15,000/$30,000/$10,000, this state requires that even visitors are covered by insurance carriers who are licensed in Arizona. Failure to do so could result in hefty fines for visitors and loss of license and registration for Arizona residents.
Connecticut's minimums are $20,000/$40,000/$10,000. The state is notified every time a driver's policy lapses. Car insurance laws require the driver to send proof of insurance immediately upon request or receive a fine of $200. Drivers who don't pay that fine will have their vehicle registration suspended as well as losing the ability to register future vehicles.
Regardless of residency, driving through Washington D.C. without proof of coverage will cost drivers a $30 ticket. D.C. also keeps track of resident's coverage and will issue a $150 citation for those who have a lapse of insurance between 1 and 30 days, and $7 per day after that. D.C.'s minimum requirement are $10,000 in property damage, $25,000 in third-party liability ($50,000 per accident), $25,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury ($50,000 per accident), and $5,000 uninsured motorist property damage liability. Washington D.C. is also known for having the highest car insurance rates.
New York will not issue license plates without proof of insurance. The state has the following minimum car insurance requirements: Liability: $25,000/$50,000 for injury, $50,000/$100,000 for death. Uninsured Motorist: $25,000/$50,000 for injury, and $50,000/$100,000 for death. Also required: $10,000 in property damage liability and $50,000 for basic no-fault insurance.
Police officers in Illinois will write drivers a $500 ticket and possibly tow away their vehicle if minimum guidelines for insurance aren't met. The state requires $20,000/$40,000/$10,000 and all vehicles must be insured at registration. State computers also check for insurance coverage randomly, issuing tickets to those who don't comply.
Vehicles must be insured in Texas before they can be registered. The minimum requirements are $25,000/$50,000/$25,000, and are applicable to all cars, even those that don't work or are in storage. Fines in Texas start at $175 and double and triple quickly. Violations can also stay on a driver's record for many years.
In West Virginia not carrying insurance can hurt those found at fault for an accident. The injured party can not only sue, but ask that the 'at fault' driver's registration be suspended until they have been paid in full for the accident. Their limits are $20,000/$40,000/$10,000.
Car insurance rates will vary greatly from state to state, but it is even more costly not to be covered at all.